Jacqui McShee & Kevin Dempsey


From There To Here Jacqui McShee & Kevin Dempsey

Jacqui McShee was already singing traditional folk in British folk clubs when she began working with virtuosic acoustic guitarist John Renbourne in 1966. A year later, she agreed to join Pentangle, a band Renbourne was forming with equally skillful guitarist Bert Jansch, bassist Danny Thompson, and percussionist/drummer Terry Cox. McShee’s decision to accept Renbourne’s invitation proved pivotal to the history of British music as Pentangle joined with Fairport Convention and Steeleye Span to put British folk-rock on the international map.

McShee’s talents were obvious early in her career. In 1969, the Times of London wrote that she “tackles accompanied and unaccompanied folk songs, spirituals, blues, and a variety of songs in other styles; her first interest was folk song.” Although Pentangle experienced numerous personnel changes, McShee and Jansch continued to perform under the band’s name. In 1995, McShee formed a trio with drummer Gerry Conway and keyboardist Spencer Cozens. The trio’s first album, About Thyme, released in August 1994, featured such guests as Ralph McTell, Albert Lee, Mike Mainieri, and John Martyn. The album reached the top of the British folk charts compiled by Folk Roots in November 1995.

Kevin Dempsey is a master performer on the guitar, an arranger, a singer and a top quality live entertainer. He is one of the most sought-after musicians on the UK folk scene and beyond, and has played and recorded with many of the most famous names in acoustic and folk music: Dave Swarbrick, Joe Broughton, Chris Leslie, Peter Knight, Dando Shaft, Uiscedwr, Whippersnapper, and Mary Black.

Whether in an intimate acoustic environment, or a large festival stage where he fills the air with spellbinding music, Kevin puts his audience at ease and takes them on a varied and wonderful musical journey.

(as of – Details)

Product Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 14 x 12.5 x 1.09 cm; 70.02 g
Manufacturer ‏ : ‎ McDem Records
Label ‏ : ‎ McDem Records
ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08BF44JZM
Country of origin ‏ : ‎ Portugal
Number of discs ‏ : ‎ 1

Track Listings

1Nature Boy
2Jack Monroe
3Lord Franklin
4Beautiful Island
5Brigg Fair
6Ribbon Bow
9Telephone Lies



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Jacqui McShee & Kevin Dempsey”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *